Make the world better today

 

 

img_20190623_135327_118

(Does napping make the world better?!? Obviously YES! )

Jeremy was gone for a couple weeks and when he’s gone I know a few things always happen…

I’ll get sad, quiet and depressed….and then I’ll rally!

After I acknowledge the fact that life is better with him home and face the fact that it is what it is; I get my big girl pants on and shift my mind set to make the most of it. Even with him gone I am called to “make the world better” one day at a time.

One of the amazing things that happens when Jer is gone is that I have more time (or make more time?) to press into hearing God. One night I was up worrying about everything… but specifically about my children, their future, and wondering whether I am giving them the tools God wants me to give them to live to the potential He has called them to.

During those contemplations I heard clearly “teach them to make the world better”. Soo simple, soo clear and soo beautiful! I feel like the Lord spoke such a simple phrase that night and it’s one I tell my kids (and myself ) often now!

That night I was envisioning them as teens choosing to dabble in this world. Envisioning them wondering what to say yes to and what to say no to when I’m not around to guide them.

That’s when he spoke that to me and it was so simple… For myself; Does talking about that person make the world better? Does using others for my benefit make the world better? Does getting drunk make the world better? Does “teasing” my husband about certain things make the world better? And on and on…

When my kids would be walking to the bus this last year I would yell “REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE … YOU’RE A CHILD OF THE MOST HIGH GOD …. LOVE OTHERS!”

I think my new bus stop “mom-tra” is going to be “MAKE THE WORLD BETTER TODAY”.  I soo want my kids to know that they aren’t here to be selfish or “happy”. They are here to serve others and to leave the world better than before they were born.

I wonder if my kids will feel more free knowing the world is soo much bigger than their wants. I hope they feel fulfilled by searching for ways to make the world better. And I hope they are less self absorbed by thinking about the world as something they can impact.

(This song kept coming to my mind while writing all that … It’s just such a powerful reminder of the bigger picture of life… Our lives are meant for soo much more than what we think sometimes)

That’s all for now 😊 Ta Ta

Leave a comment